Ah the Shame

Since returning to Hearthstone I’ve had to do quite a bit of catch up reading on Heathpwn to find out what’s been happening and what’s hot in the meta. It turns out it’s Aggro Shaman (although all I seem to see are Druids filling the board with increasingly powerful Jade Golems). I’ve always had a love/hate relationship with Shaman. When I started it was my favourite deck to play but then I went crazy one day and disenchanted a Doomhammer to then find the class unplayable. But the new Shaman decks appear to be Doomhammer-less and all aggro and in your face. At least I think so. Aggro is another thing I’ve always had problems with. Do you always go face with aggro or do you sometimes trade? After X many years playing Hearthstone I should know this. I know where I am with decks where you’re fighting for board control and tempo but with decks where you need to make choices and even go face even when everything inside you is insisting you trade – well that’s hard.

I had to craft a couple of cards to play this deck – and I still don’t have Patches. Also realised I hadn’t done the Karazhan Shaman adventure so was missing Maelstrom Portal. All sorted now although I’m ashamed to say it took me two attempts to beat the Mirror.

I’ve been disenchanting quite a bit recently to get what I need for other decks too. So it’s been bye bye Rhonin and Rend and hello Yogg and lots of other rares and epics that I need to fill out my ranks and allow me to be somewhat competitive (if rank 19 can ever be called competitive…!).

Anyway  back to my aggro shaman – just played one game (getting a deck ready to play seems to take longer than the game itself). It was some sort of Freeze Mage – possibly a Reno one that never drew Reno or Flamestrike – thank heavens. I won by the skin of my teeth with a Lava Burst top deck right to the face boosted with double spellpower. It was not easy despite all the forum chat that says Aggro Shaman is just too easy to play, too strong, beats everything etc. It’s not going to be that way for me. I think I’m the only person who made Zoo Warlock and Aggro Hunter look really hard to play. In my heart I remain a control/tempo player so these quicker decks really push me out of my comfort zone.

And I also feel some shame – shame at jumping on the “easy win” bandwagon. Although for me I don’t think this deck will mean easy wins. So not even sure why I’m playing it. I suppose it’s the deep down desire to find a deck that will help me move up the ranks and maybe one day hit Legend.

Hope really does spring eternal.

Leave a Reply

