Mindfulness through Blaugust

Well I’m halfway (ish) through Blaugust 2016 so thought I’d pause a moment to reflect on what it’s been like writing a daily post. I’ve never posted daily, although in the early days of Bravetank I used to do about 3-4 posts a week and do remember occasionally posting twice a in one day. Keen much?!  Things have calmed down considerably over the years.

And it is years – I had an anniversary pop up on WordPress yesterday and I’ve been blogging 5 years. And I’ve published 200 posts. Actually I’ve published more than that but I’ve turned some back to draft when I later wished I hadn’t posted them. These are usually the personal outpouring “woe is me” type posts. I write them, post them, then regret them. I hate the idea I’ve revealed too much of myself on here – not so much to people reading who I don’t know, but definitely to people reading who might know me in real life. That said, not many real life people know about the Bravetank blog, but some do and it’s when I think about them knowing this or that about me that I get uncomfortable and want to redact what I’ve said. So there are about 20 or so posts in draft which were just too personal, too revealing and show too clearly that I have a tendency to overshare!

But anyway back to Blaugust 2016. The actual doing of it has been easier than I thought it would be. I’ve got into a routine of writing a post as soon as I get up. This means I’m writing between 5-6 every morning. This routine seems to work. The biggest challenge has been ideas on what to write. I’m not someone who posts about the state of MMO gaming,  why WoW player group X are wrong and WoW player group Y are right etc. I just write to record my personal experiences and feelings when playing WoW. And I have lots of experiences and feelings when playing WoW – some happy (ooh pretty zone, yay I have new gear, double yay I survived LFR), some sad (boo more fel leggings, sob I just got told to L2P, utter trauma – Varian). But when I come to actually write a post I often forget what all those feelings were (what happened in WoW yesterday – did someone die? ) So I have started noting ideas down in draft as and when I play if something occurs to me that makes me think or when something I see makes me laugh or cry, cheer or rave.

And some of this I’ll keep doing after August. Not the daily posts – it’s eating into my pre-work playtime! But I will try to do about two a week from now on. I like the fact that Blaugust has made me more mindful about my WoW experience. By looking for ideas to write about I’ve been really engaged with the WoW world and much more aware of the things going on around me – the things I’m doing, the choices I’m making, the people I’m interacting with and how it’s all making me feel. So Blaugust for me has been less about rediscovering a passion for blogging and more about rediscovering my passion for WoW through the act of blogging – an interesting difference. And the fact this has all happened during the run up to Legion is even better because this is exactly the time I want to be engaged in the world, really feel a part of the storyline and really feel my emotions tugged and pulled and torn as the events unfold. So Blaugust is helping make this month a much deeper and richer experience.  I never thought it would give me that when I first signed up. I’m really glad to be a part of it. Here’s to the next 15 posts.

Leave a Reply

