Clueless

I’m off from work on holiday right now so have finally had a chance to log onto WoW. It’s been awhile. Interestingly I found I didn’t want to go on and play any of my 100s or even any of my almost 100s. The character I was itching to play was my little level 14 hunter Beanie 2.0. I’ve never done much with hunters. Started a few (Beanie 1.0 being one of them) but never got too far. I have always been too scared to play them in case I wanted to go into a dungeon and accidentally failed to control my pet (I know me – in a panic I would never be able to turn off Growl). So instead I’ve been a safe little Pally, then a brave Shaman, then an almost awesome Mage (of course my tendency to over blink led to some fairly epic fails), then a solid Druid and latterly a would-be Healer Priest. The Hunter, like Warrior, Rogue, Death Knight & Monk (have I forgotten any? .. oh yes Warlocks) was a class I had no urge to play in any serious way.

But for some reason I’m now levelling a hunter.  She’s a Beast Master – although just received a Polearm in the mail telling me I will need it if I’m ever Survival. I don’t think I want to be Survival though. I want to be as one with the beasts. That said now that I have my companion Top Cat I have no urge to tame any other animal. I’m already too attached (sigh).

Obviously there’s been a patch since I was last playing (probably several but one big one that I’m aware of). Since logging on I’ve noticed I can’t hide her cloak. This bothers me more than it should. A quick search on the internet reveals I have to go to a transmogrifier to hide it. Hmm ok.  I also notice I don’t have much in my wardrobe. I’m assuming this is because she’s my first proper hunter and only 14? I will need to log onto one of my other more established characters to see if they have more outfit options. I also think I’m missing a spell since there’s a gap on my action bar. Survival Shot was it? I now have Dire Beast and Cobra Shot (although I think I may have always had the latter but it wasn’t on my action bar  – oh it’s all so confusing).

Are you  picking up a theme here? Yes I’m pretty clueless. Clueless about my hunter and clueless about all the changes. I cannot pretend to have read a patch note (well I could pretend but not sure why I’d want to venture down that dark path).  I’m not really one for staying up to date on WoW news these days. If I can squeeze any WoW time in I just want to play. I want to pick up a quest, skim read it, go & do said quest, turn it in, see my little bar fill up & then once in a blessed while see the screen go all bright and level up. Whoohoo. That’s all I want. In fact I think that’s all I’ve ever wanted from WoW. Oh and also immersion. Total and utter immersion. I want to lose myself utterly in this world while the real one around me seems to be slowly transforming into something from The Walking Dead. I am too scared these days to have the day time news on while daughter is in the room –  I don’t want to have to explain why people are getting stabbed, why drivers are plowing into people deliberately and why there are mass shootings. But I have to explain because this is the world she lives in. It’s a scary world. But when I really think about it I know it always has been.

So I lose myself in WoW while still feeling feel like the eternal Wow noob. In regard to Legion I know it’s coming and I’ve pre-purchased it but that’s about it – I haven’t even tried the beta and I’ve not read any spoilers. I have been in a WoW vacuum for many months. And so it was genuinely nice today to log on and do some questing while discovering some of the smaller things that have already changed  (like mail – yes my baby hunter is already in mail. Shiny but cold I imagine.)

So what did I do in my magic hour? Well I’m a human hunter helping out the night elves so I went and rescued Grimclaw.  I had to sneak up on some bears while they were busy eating fish to pluck out their hair (or is it fur? – you know, the stuff that keeps them warm, unlike my hunter’s mail).  I was then sent out to kill 50 murlocs by detonating myself – that was dark. I’ve now gone up to some ruins to …not sure …collect sparkly ornaments and kill horde? I’m skim reading remember. I’m still enjoying the hunter- the satisfying twang of my bow followed by Top Cat’s ferocious “Yes Ma’am” to my Kill Command. I’ve decided Beanie is a not going to be a dungeon girl. No – she’s going to mosey her way up to 100 and beyond by running errands and generally being helpful to all and sundry. Along the way something called Legion will descend and I suspect Azeroth will change. But I’m spoiler free so have no idea in what way nor whether I will like it.  I’m playing this game like I’m living my life –  scared about the wider world, trying to make my piece of it as nice as possible and on the whole pretty clueless most of the time.

4 thoughts on “Clueless

  1. Heh, one thing about removing your cloak is that you can only transmog green items. So if you’re low level and using a white cloak, you can’t remove it until you upgrade. This caused me a lot of frustration trying to figure it out on the weekend.

  2. A good tip after last patch is to just read all your abilities anew. Some of them might do the same, but dont expect it. And you may have all new ones in your spellbook as well.

Leave a Reply

