Where is the time?

I’ve resubbed to WoW after a few months off. As usual coming back to Azeroth feels like meeting up again with a very long lost but beloved friend. Walking/flying around the old familiar places & trying out my various characters is strangely comforting. Dealing with out of date addons somewhat less so.

But while I’m back I’m hardly playing. Unlike previously when I had the time but not the inclination, now it’s the former that’s running short. What with work, family & ongoing study (I’m still trying to learn programming & game development) I find there’s little time left for WoW. As it is I get up at crazy o’clock to try to fit in the studying before I go off to work. The knock on to this is that by the time daughter is in bed I’m pretty much exhausted and ready to go to sleep too. I hardly watch TV and I can’t remember the last time I read a fiction book. I’ve had to stop pretty much everything I was doing for Geeks & Geeklets, I’m not playing Hearthstone any more and this blog …well you can see how often this is being updated.

Despite how this reads I’m not complaining. It’s my choice to want to learn programming & game development and I could stop at any time. But surely learning how to make games involves playing some games (or at least one very specific game …yes I’m trying to justify giving at least some weekend time to WoW!) All I know is that now I finally have the urge to play WoW and write about it again I want to find the time to do it. Life seems a little empty without it.

Leave a Reply

