Let’s Bake a Deck

The recent Hearthstone patch brought with it the new Deck Recipes. Basically 3 recipes per class to get you quickly underway with a particular deck type. I’ve been trying it out this morning (so excited in fact I got up at 5am – is this uber geekness or uber sadness?). I started with a Shaman Murloc deck which was a disaster as I forgot it was an aggressive deck & started playing it control style. On top of that I was also against a Murloc Paladin deck & so had to hold back from using all my murloc buffs. When it was obvious I was going to lose I politely conceded and had another go only to meet yet another Paladin Murloc deck. This time I tried to play more aggressively but it was hard when I still had to clear the little murlocs out of the way first. I lost again. In a huff I decided to give up on Shaman Murloc & instead  try a Pally deck. The options were Classic Pally, Dragon Pally and of course Murloc Pally. Seems the latter is the deck of choice for everyone playing at rank of 18 (yes I’m not doing very well this month). Never one to follow the crowd (unless they’re heading towards a chocolate fountain) I opted for Dragon Pally instead. The deck was automatically populated with all the cards I needed but I was missing one card – Chillmaw – so it offered me two replacements and I chose good old Tirion.

As soon as the match started I discovered I was against a Dragon priest (opening card a buffed Twilight Whelp) – hmm a Dragon Pally against a Dragon Priest. What’s going on? Actually it seems everyone (like me) is currently trying out Deck Recipes so we’re inevitably seeing the same decks. I’m sure it will calm down. Anyway this match had a happier outcome for me as I won. Yay.

I then tried out the Mage Deck Recipe. Three choices – Classic, Spells & Dragon. Once again the Welsh in me would not be denied and I opted for the Dragon one. Again another win. Maybe the heady heights of 17 are not too far away.

What I like about the recipes is that it makes doing your dailies much easier. You can quickly check what your quests are and pull a suitable deck together from the recipes. Even if you don’t have all the cards it offers replacement choices. This seems easier and quicker than netdecking from sites like Hearthpwn or Icy Veins. Not sure how the recipes will fare further up the ranks but right now it’s fine for me and it at least means I will now try to do some quests that involve classes I don’t usually play eg Warrior and Rogue. But NOT Murloc Shaman. No never again. I should have remembered from my WoW days – murlocs have never been nor ever will ever be my friends. Mgrlllmgrlrrr.

 

Leave a Reply

