RSS

The things you do for love

31 Aug

I started out with such good intentions. I was a Blood Elf but I was going to devote myself to the Tauren. I was going to be the Greatmother’s emissary in Azeroth, bringing light to a hostile and threatening world – spreading the Tauren message of love, harmony and respect for nature in a stylish Blood Elf way with a figure to die for.

It soon became clear this was going to be no easy task. Have you tried getting from the Blood Elf starting area to Mulgore as a Level 1 with no money. I got to Orgrimmar easily enough (I’m not that clueless – close though) but the next stage.. oh my! I was aggroing things from Tanaris I swear. Every mob in Kalimdor smelled blood and came out to get it. I almost gave up & then remembered my level 70 Horde Warlock on the same server. Lightbulb moment! She could send me gold so that I could fly to the Tauren starting land! I’m ashamed to say I must have died about 30 times before I thought of this. Sharpness is a quality that still alludes me.

So I got to Tauren land. Did a few quests. Wept respectfully over Greatmother Hawkwind’s funeral pyre. It was all going swimmingly even though occasionally the quest text referred to my hooves (hooves! … I’m a blood elf in designer stilettos I’ll have you know).

But then something in my hunter blood started to stir & I knew I needed to tame something cool. Did a search on Petopia & found this little mite. My heart melted & I knew he was the one for me. So I waved goodbye to my Tauren brethren, promising I’d be back soon. They looked at me quizzically – we’d never quite overcome the language barrier – and off I went.

I got to Undercity & made my way down to Silverpine Forest. And there it happened. Everything changed. To begin with I just thought I’d pick up a few quests on my way  to the spot where the Lost Gilnean Wardog hangs out  – just to keep the levelling process going you understand. Nothing too awful – killing a few enraged worgen that’s all. I told myself the Tauren would have been all for this – I mean these mobs were worgen and enraged – a combination that surely cries out for extinction.

So I did the quest and ran back to camp to get my silver coins and experience points. But that’s when it happened. I caught her eye, she caught mine, we tossed them back to each other (groan… I know  –  but the old ones are the best). There was no going back.

Sylvanas – she’s rather mesmerising isn’t she? And she seemed very impressed with me. Very. Before long we we going on long rides together, she was confiding in me, I was painting her rotting toenails, it was lovely. And before I knew it I was unquestioningly obeying her every command – no matter how vile, hateful or disturbing.

I’ve done a quick review and in my first couple of levels serving Sylvanas I have done the following:-

1. Collected countless diseased organs – I really should be quarantined.

2.  Gathered ferocious doomweed for Apothecary Witherbloom even thought I knew it was to weaponise the blight –  I even hummed a bit as I collected it – I find gardening so relaxing.

3.  Helped Agatha turned numerous fleeing humans into Forsaken – and flew back to Sylvanas with undignified haste for a pat on the head.

4. Killed several Worgens in bear form, who were  inconspicuously trying out a new tanking spec – thus single handledly further reducing the number of tanks queuing in LFG

5. Rummaged around countless crocolisk innards to find Dempsey’s body parts – only to have my three deranged amigos (Walden, Godfrey and Ashbury) kill the raised guy the moment he gave them some lip.

6. Stood by while Godfrey killed the cowering troopers we were meant to be rescuing (and in fairness to Sylvanas not even she knows about that).

7. Recovered mysterious “supplies” from the murlocs on the coast in Hillsbrad – there was green goo and stuff coming out of the barrels – I’m thinking it’s not wheatgrass  (although the Undead do swear by its health benefits).

8. Brought flesh samples to someone who “wrings his hands together and laughs maniacally” when sending me on the quest. I think at this point I reached a new low.

9. Brought 12 still beating yeti hearts to Keeper Bel’varil only to find he didn’t need them anymore  –  then considered eating them when he told me they had excellent nutritional value.

10. Poisoned 30 Stormpike trainees with a barrel of water – and looked on as they gratefully ran to the water so that I could make sure EVERY SINGLE ONE OF THEM was poisoned.

It’s a fact – I am beyond redemption.  The Tauren and their whole respect the earth schtick is but a distant memory. I am Beanie the Plaguebringer. And I’m having so much fun! 

 
8 Comments

Posted by on August 31, 2014 in World of Warcraft

 

Tags: , , , ,

8 responses to “The things you do for love

  1. Chris

    August 31, 2014 at 5:15 pm

    YES. I’m normally not one to role-play, and frequently skip quest text altogether, but the entire Sylvanas chain captivated me. I loved how she pulled the Forsaken together and gave them purpose, a sense of belonging to a community and cause. They’re completely loyal to her because she’s totally committed to THEM. I only play orks now (Orklords of Orknor here we come) but my heart still belongs to Sylvanas :)

     
    • Bravetank

      September 1, 2014 at 6:26 pm

      I’ve also been making an effort to properly read the quest text this time round too, and I think that has increased my feelings of immersion. And you are right – she is so totally & utterly committed to them – it’s very powerful stuff. The only thing is I’m in my 40s and now doing quests for the Argent Dawn in the Plaguelands (it’s all I can find) – just doesn’t feel right!

       
      • Chris

        September 1, 2014 at 7:23 pm

        If I remember correctly, thousand needles is ~40 now, so you could go back to smashing bad Tauren for the good Tauren. That segues into the goblin stuff on the lake where the racetrack used to be. I haven’t been there in a long time so my levels may be off. The badlands should be right around that level too, but I’ve never liked that zone – so bleak and empty. You could just pretend to be infiltrating the enemy to corrupt them from the inside, Sylvanas would probably have agents in their ranks already!

         
      • Bravetank

        September 2, 2014 at 7:26 pm

        Thousand Needles would be fun – not been there in ages but have good memories of taking my first character through there. So far though I’ve stayed in Eastern Plaguelands – I’m enjoying the quests & I like your idea of being an infiltrator!!

         
  2. khizzara

    September 8, 2014 at 9:30 pm

    It’s too late for this to help you now, but maybe it will help in future: There’s a free zeppelin from Orgrimmar to Thunder Bluff. When I was but a wee Tauren calf with nary a copper to my name I used to rely heavily on it.

     
    • Bravetank

      September 10, 2014 at 12:39 pm

      Thank you! That is really good to know for the future. Feel a bit silly that I didn’t know this & died so many times!!

       
  3. AliPally

    September 9, 2014 at 10:05 am

    I’m glad you are back. If you still have my Btag, you can always join us for dungeons or whatever in WoD.

     
    • Bravetank

      September 10, 2014 at 12:41 pm

      Thanks Ali :) And nice to see you again. Feels like I’ve been away ages.

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers