RSS

Scenes from a WoW Marriage No 1

17 Nov

A conversation over breakfast

Me (eating toast): So apparently there’s some furore over the fact you won’t be able to fly right away in Draenor. Some people are actually saying they’ll quit the game over it. Can you believe that? I think it’s silly …

Husband (look of horror on face): YOU WHAT?

Me: You know, there’s no flying in Draenor at the start. You have to wait until you’re 100 or…

Husband: WHAAAT!!! I think that’s absolutely ridiculous. What’s the point in that?

Me (trying to keep my tone reasonable  – as if talking to a child, or a rabid dog): Why? It’s the way pretty much all expansions have worked. You don’t get to fly right away. They want you to see all the new content first.

Husband: Oh do they now? Well it shouldn’t be up to them. It should be up to me if I want to see all the content.

Me (laughing at his craziness while continuing to eat toast – it’s my usual strategy – it means I eat a lot of toast):  Why wouldn’t you? What’s the point in playing if you don’t want to see the new stuff?

Husband: I can see it from the air.

Me: No you can’t, not properly.

Husband: Yes I can.

Me: No you can’t.

[This went on for a bit - edited for sanity.]

Husband: Ok what if I rode round the entire area once on my mount – my stupid GROUND mount –  so I see all the precious new stuff, THEN could I have flying, THEN would Blizzard think I’d finally earned it? But what am I saying? I’ve ALREADY earned  it. I earned it when I first got it. I have a max level character who has worked himself to the bloody bone getting to 90. The bloody bone. I’m exhausted I  tells ya, I can’t take it anymore!

[ok I’m paraphrasing now, but you get the point)

Me (fed up): It’s their game, they can do what they like.

Husband (Huge sigh and lots of eye rolling, until finally): I’m not happy

Me: (thinking – No shit sherlock)

Husband (eventually): So is this definite?

Me: (deciding to make it worse … why I don’t know – let’s call it devilment): Well it might not be 100. You might not get flying  until the first patch. And that might be AGES after you hit 100.

[Note: I did not end by saying "so there", but it was very much implied by my smirk].

Husband: I’ll quit if they do that

Me: Oh my god, you’re one of them.

THE END

Note: This took place in a cafe. We left soon after.

Further note: Husband redeemed himself later by finding Adamantite Ore for me in Outlands. He did however make a great show of the fact he did this while flying.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on November 17, 2013 in World of Warcraft

 

Tags: ,

6 responses to “Scenes from a WoW Marriage No 1

  1. Talarian

    November 17, 2013 at 9:47 pm

    “Me: Oh my god, you’re one of them.”

    I admit, I laughed out loud heartily at this. I’ve had “discussions” like that with friends before, generally along the same line where we disagree with an implementation or idea in WoW. And there’s a point where you just shake your head, give up, and never bring the topic up again.

     
    • Bravetank

      November 19, 2013 at 6:46 pm

      Yes I think that’s pretty much how we left it! Come the expansion though I’m sure I’ll hear about it all over again :)

       
  2. Balkoth

    November 17, 2013 at 9:54 pm

    I actually would have suggested Blizzard do something like put Flying mounts on a 15 minute cooldown. Then you can use them for traveling great distances but not to get up on a ledge at a whim.

    Using a flying mount should be a big deal, not a casual whim. Destroys the terrain and barricades and area design and a bunch of other stuff.

     
    • Bravetank

      November 19, 2013 at 6:47 pm

      Yes some sort of restriction like that would be a good idea. But I’m fine about waiting in any case- I’m just glad they’re not making me walk :)

       
  3. wynneclark

    November 17, 2013 at 11:36 pm

    Nice piece made me laugh

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers