RSS

Am I floating in a tin can

01 Sep

I’m continuing my love affair with Eve Online although I suspect I’m doing it all wrong (although I also know there’s no right or wrong way to do it). The problem is that everything I read without exception says that I should join a Corporation, but I don’t want to. I’m really enjoying the peace and quiet of my alone time in space. I’ve completed three lots of career agent missions (decided to put Advanced Military & Exploration on hold for the moment). I’m keeping Erike Austrene (I love the name) constantly busy training. She is a space age renaissance child – adept at quick changes of subject matter- 20 minutes on social skills, little bit of time on biology, then for shield management and industry, and then some energy management, hull upgrades and mass production. And on & on it goes. (And oh my god just claimed my first certificate …I am a Basic Production Manager – whoohoo.) When the skill queue is full I enjoy quietly getting on with the level 1 distribution missions (I am ridiculously happy picking things up and dropping them off – I should have been a bus driver). I’m doing it all for the Republic University – increasing my standing with them. On the side I’m dabbling a little in the market (not successfully so far – think I created a rather silly EMP buy order in the most unvisited region of space – luckily it will expire after a day & spare my blushes).

I’ve got a longer term goal of being a researcher (I think – although I’m loving production and trade so I’ll probably try to tie the three things up in some way) but for now I’m really enjoying the distribution missions and slowly building up my skills. I don’t want to fight (I disliked the military career agent missions if I’m honest) and I don’t want to be part of some fleet.

So basically I have no interest in joining a corporation. But is that ok? Are there players who just quietly get on with it and enjoy discovering the game themselves at their own pace, however slow? I’m in no rush to get anywhere – in fact I’ve not even set myself a destination (unless it’s to drop off yet more packets of earth).

I feel as I did when I first started playing WoW. I never grouped (there was no LFD then). I just loved soloing. But I used to read comments on various forums that asked why would someone play an MMORPG if they were just going to solo? But while I wanted to solo I also liked the fact there were other people around- it was strangely comforting. I just didn’t want to talk to them!

And of course eventually this did change in WoW. Eventually I had the courage/interest/greed to go in LFD and discover dungeons. I never went back to WoW solo play. The kindness and support shown to me in those groups totally won me over ….(yes yes this blog does irony with a fair dollop of bitterness). But it was the early soloing period that established my love for the game and got me immersed in the world. My horrendous group experiences certainly gave me plenty of things to vent about on here but my WoW nostalgia and warm memories are of things I did on my own at the start of the game – like running to Eastvale Logging camp in the rain, finally killing Mor Laidim in atmospheric Duskwood and enjoying a peaceful Saturday morning questing in beautiful Menthil Harbour. I am at that stage in my Eve journey – although the New Eden world itself is a lot bleaker, darker and – well – rather spacey.

And of course I am making mistakes in Eve. I used the wrong ship initially do to the distribution missions and nearly put my fist through my monitor every time the game told me I didn’t have enough room on board to carry some boxes of seed. But that mistake led me to look properly at the stats for each ship and actually compare hold capacity to see which one I should be using. So it was valuable experience albeit nearly costly in terms of my computer. I’ve also bought the odd skill I’ve already trained (but luckily sold it again quickly) & left the station with the items needed back in my hangar. In fact just now I returned to the pick up location only to be told I had to complete the mission at the drop off location. Aaargh!! I’m also not one hundred percent sure what I’m doing with acceleration gates & deadspace and just spent a great deal of time looking for cargo holds containing raggy dolls only to realise I had deselected some container option in my overview settings so it wasn’t showing up in my overview. Grrrr. All my fault of course- but again making the mistake is getting me used to the overview settings & what I want/don’t want on display.

So I’m loving it all even though I’m doing lots wrong!! But I want to be alone. I really do. I’m the Greta Garbo of Eve Online and very happy to be so.

 
15 Comments

Posted by on September 1, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

15 responses to “Am I floating in a tin can

  1. Red Neckromonger

    September 2, 2012 at 4:12 am

    Good read man. Welcome to New Eden. I am a bit of a loner myself in Eve. There’s plenty of fun stuff to do by yourself. I have a small core group of friends that are flying around in a wormhole with me right now, but I’m just as happy all by my lonesome. There are things in this game that absolutely require groups, Alts, fleets or alliances…but there are also plenty of things to do solo. The people that say “it’s an mmorpg, your not supposed to play solo” are wrong, because soloists do it everyday, and are happy.

    If you really want the feeling of seclusion go learn about wormholes. No other aspect of Eve will test you for cabin fever like w-space.

     
    • Bravetank

      September 2, 2012 at 4:53 pm

      Thank you. :) Glad to hear other people are loners too & that it’s not the worse thing in the world to do in Eve! Having said that started reading more about Eve University today – the structured learning side of it really appeals to me (I’d like to attend classes – eternal student at heart I think!) so I might look more into that. Don’t know anything about wormholes in Eve- sounds intriguing. Will read up on that as well. Thank for commenting :)

       
  2. Sojurney

    September 2, 2012 at 6:30 pm

    Glad you’re enjoying Eve. Since you really like the industrial/trade side of Eve, you’ll get along just fine by yourself. Eve University is a good corp to join because they will teach you about the game in a structured environment. However, if you continue to go as a solo industrialist the only detriment would be the lack of BPOs that a manufacturing corp could provide you. Keep doing what makes you happy.

     
    • Bravetank

      September 5, 2012 at 6:05 pm

      I have put in an application to Eve Uni now – the structured environment appeals to me. Waiting to hear back & fearing rejection :)

       
  3. Bosstiger

    September 3, 2012 at 6:44 am

    Reblogged this on Gigable – Tech Blog.

     
  4. Helena Khan

    September 3, 2012 at 9:05 pm

    …Can you hear me Major Tank…?

    Assuming that is a Bowie reference of course :)

    You don’t need to be part of a corp, but it does make a difference in the longer term for the heavy lifting aspects of the game… things like capital production etc. It can be done solo, but it can be really hard work, most especially to source minerals, blueprints etc.

    Logistically, you’ll also find if you have a good corp it can make a real difference as well. Moving a truck load of stuff and ships is much MUCH easier when there is a freighter involved.

    Isk wise, you might get access to the higher income streams via your corporation which helps getting the seed capital for the expensive stuff like blueprint originals (go see contracts for some scary numbers) and for grinding up faction/NPC corporation standings.

    Lastly, there are arcane bits of knowledge that you probably won’t get without some assistance (the aggression mechanics and the different overview settings are definite cases in point).

    On one hand you won’t see some of the laughter and inspired lunacy that can occur in a corp. On the other hand, you won’t get the drama llamas…!

    While I have some RL friends as corpmates, I too like the solitude of space, most especially exploration. There can be some very good iskies there too :)

    Any skill you consider worth using is usually worth getting to 4 unless 5 is a prereq for something else. 5 is often a luxury for later in life. It is better to use the time in the early stages to get a raft of skills to L4 than spending the same amount of time to get one L5… you’re only usually between 2 and 5% disadvantaged in any case.

    Don’t forget your fitting, navigation and capacitor skills. They may not seem important at first glance but nothing sucks more than your ship dying because you ran out of cap or because your ship was too slow in aligning for a warp out.

    And it almost always pays to fit the things the ship has a bonus for… i,e blasters or railguns on a gallente boat.

    Don’t overreach too. You can be in a battleship in less than three months. You will exploderize time and time again though, because you don’t have the support skills to handle one. Either you can’t fit the right systems, or your tank is way to weak, or you guns won’t be able to track…. the list goes on.

    Start with the smaller stuff and learn to fly it really well before jumping to cruisers, then BCs and then battleships…

    Wow. Sorry about that. Turned into a wall o text…! Usual IMHO disclaimers apply :)

     
    • Bravetank

      September 5, 2012 at 6:09 pm

      Thank you so much for this. Really helpful info. Much appreciated. I have bought a Probe – supposed to be a good cargo runner. I’ll be sticking with that for a long time. I’m still only on Level 1 Distribution missions! I’ve gone a bit mad & spent some days on Science Level 5 because I want to get into R&D, but will go back to my fitting, navigation & capacitor skills. Finally discovered the Compare tool too – it’s the little things :)

       
  5. Florence

    September 4, 2012 at 5:10 pm

    You’ll be back lol. Everyone comes back in the end. like all the SWTOR players.

     
    • Bravetank

      September 5, 2012 at 6:12 pm

      Maybe maybe!! Though I am considering cancelling my subscription for the time being. I’ve done that in the past but one listen to The Instance has normally been enough to draw me back in!!

       
  6. potatoeWoW (@potatoeWoW)

    September 5, 2012 at 12:35 am

    Another WoW refugee just posted (again?) that he is playing EvE.

    http://foo-eve.blogspot.com/2012/02/it-is-great-to-be-noob-again.html

     
  7. Helena Khan

    September 6, 2012 at 9:55 pm

    One thing about R&D is that you’ll find (if you’re operating in hi-sec) a real lack of access to Material Efficiency slots for your blueprints. They’re much in demand and can have wait times in excess of 30 days before one comes free.

    Not wanting to harp on again, but an indy corp with a player owned station is probably an easier route unless you’re a very patient person.

    You lose 10% in materials just by using a standard off the shelf BPO. While it’s not hugely important with small scale building of low volume items especially those you use yourself, but it absolutely will affect profitability if you’re looking to sell. Margins are way less than 10% usually, and most people into serious building have their BPOs at 0.1 or 0.0 loss for max efficiency.

    Obviously it gets much worse when you’re starting to look at things like battleships etc that take millions (sometimes tens of millions) of units of tritanium….

    Market research is all important here. You may well find a market that can absorb higher prices due to lower efficiency, but in high sec you pretty much need to be as efficient as you possibly can.

    If you are looking at Tech 2 production suggest you start looking at running missions for NPC corporations that have good R&D agents for the datacores of the items you want to invent and build. It’s a good passive income too.

    This is an older site but still useful: http://www.eve-agents.com/

    Planning so you’re not having to do a 50 to 100 jump round trip every time you go on a datacore run is a very good thing.

    Something small and fast or cloaky plus warp to zero a very good idea on the inbound. That or something with a significant tank. Ganking can and will happen in high sec if the loss/reward ratio is on the side of the ganker.

    Lastly, exploration and especially radar sites for the decryptors is again a very important thing. These can cost quite a bit isk wise, and will amend both the time and efficiency of the output BPC on invention.

    btw Science V is hugely important for lots of things and a very good choice imho. Aside from that, this is very much your game – learn, fly and do what you want.

    One last thing – send me a ping if you wish and I’ll see what I can do in regards to more tangible help :)

     
  8. Helena Khan

    September 6, 2012 at 10:23 pm

    Oh, and for invention, it’s fairly critical to get both the primary and secondary skill involved to at least four along with the encryption skill…

    This website will give you a bit of an idea as to invention chances: http://games.chruker.dk/eve_online/invention_chance.php

    And this for a general overview: http://wiki.eveonline.com/en/wiki/Invention

    FS

     
    • Bravetank

      September 10, 2012 at 8:25 pm

      That’s great. Many thanks. Also I have now joined EveUni! Was accepted this week. I’ve got such a while to go before I can even think of starting research though. Have less than 1 million ISK & the skill I need to learn to work with the research agent is 10M. So quietly continuing to run Distribution Level 1 missions although currently stuck on a Supply Ship that refuses to die. Thank you again for your advice & links – it’s really helpful.

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers