RSS

The Rumpelstiltskin Approach

07 Aug

My guild is running a few old raids at the moment.  Last Friday we started BWD.I was quite surprised at how complex some of the fights were. I don’t know why I was surprised though. I don’t do ordinary Cata heroic dungeons because I find them harder than HoT dungeons, so why I thought BWD would be a straight forward tank & spank with no need for strategy, positional awareness or any sort of thought on my part  just because it’s not the most current raid I don’t know. Chalk it up to my naivety and/or stupidity – as with most things.

We had to call it quits last Friday, however, before we could get to Nefarian & this has thankfully given me chance to do some research on the guy in preparation for when we finally meet. As  Sun Tzu said-

“… if you know your enemies and know yourself, you will not be imperiled in a hundred battles”

In other words if you know your rotation and faithfully read Icy Veins or some other strategy  guide then you may not find yourself visiting the spirit healer that often – unless like me you know these things but still do something stupid like blinking off the edge of Skyfire mid fight  (yes that was me in DS last Saturday ….sigh)

Sun Tzu also said

“…if you do not know your enemies but do know yourself, you will win one and lose one”

Hmm I think he was being a tad generous there. In my experience  knowing  my class & rotation but not knowing the boss strategy never ends well. But there is always Deadly Boss Mods which can make up  a bit of the shortfall  (it’s my desert island add on – although since I wouldn’t have a computer on said island not really sure  what I’d do with it – but that’s how much I love it).

Finally he said,

“… if you do not know your enemies nor yourself, you will be imperiled in every single battle.”

Yes – if you think you are playing your mage when you’re actually on your warrior and think you’re fighting Ultraxion when actually it’s Yorsahj chances are it will not go well …and if the boss doesn’t kill you your guildees will.

So taking Sun Tzu’s advice (who am I to ignore it) I’ve been doing some research. I think if I keep the following in mind I will be showing Nefarian who’s boss when we finally do meet the next time the guild runs BWD (it won’t be me – I’ll just point at my raid leader and then hide behind a rock).

1. His sister is Onyxia & she will be in the fight too. Ooh goody. Two dragons for the price of one. I really wish Deathwing would come along too so we could take a photo and judge who takes after who (“they all look a bit..well…dragony really”).  And wouldn’t you just love to have been the babysitter responsible for putting them to bed when they were children…I mean whelps. Nefarian resurrects Onyxia at the start of the fight. Taking advantage of any old historical brother sister rivalry or animosity won’t work on this occasion (although apparently when they were younger he once set fire to her birthday cake – he claims he was trying to light the candles – and she’s never truly forgiven him for that). But in this fight they have decided blood is thicker than water. The strategy guides advises to tank them on opposite sides of the room – otherwise you’ll  be finding out if your own blood is thicker than water when you’re lying  in a pool of it.

2.Like some mad Mickey Mouse in Phantasia he will also summon some dancing bone warriors – ok they don’t dance but they are animated so it’s kind of the same. These can be CCd or kited but not feared – I  mean what would scare a skeleton bone warrior – xrays of broken bones set wrong perhaps?

3. Once Onyxia is gone (I’m hazy on how we actually do that – get Nefarian down as low as possible & then finish her off I think….?) the raid is filled with molten lava (is there any other kind?) and the chromatic prototypes. Now they’re the sort of thing that appear in WoW and – because I rarely read quest text – I have to nod & pretend to know what they are when really I don’t. But the shame of confessing this here has sent my scurrying over to WoW Wiki to find out – so now I know. They are prototypes of the chromatic kind. Obvious when you think about it. And there are three of them. Not having done this fight I’m struggling to visualise all this but it seems each of them is on a platform casting Blast Nova which has to be interrupted & the raid must jump onto the platform- to escape the lava presumably. I can say right now that this pretty spells the end of me in this encounter. I can never jump where I’m meant to jump – I lose all sense of direction. So I will be the one dying in the lava with my GTFO add on becoming  increasingly hysterical at my stupidity.

4.After the prototypes are gone you jump back down (or in my case maybe get a battle ress). We can then expect more dancing bone warriors – this time getting recharged with Nefarian’s shadowblaze spark. The bone warriors need to be kited while the rest of us burn Nefarian down I think.

And that seems to be it. Sounds horrendous to be frank – but I guess I’ve just got to experience it. And oh one other important thing – Nefarian is NEFARIAN (with an A) not NEFARION (with an O). This  is vitally important since Nefarian seems to have made a conscious choice to spell his name in this way – apparently proper black dragon flight naming convention means his name should end with an ION. I’m sure this fact is really a secret weapon – knowing something’s real name gives you power over them – as Rumpelstiltskin taught us all. So I strongly suspect that all that strategy stuff above is a red herring & if – instead of actually fighting him I stand completely still and repeatedly type Nefarion Nefarion Nefarion in raid chat we will much easily defeat him & my guild will love me forever. That’s the plan anyway. I’ll let you know how it goes.

 
15 Comments

Posted by on August 7, 2012 in World of Warcraft

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

15 responses to “The Rumpelstiltskin Approach

  1. Nienna

    August 7, 2012 at 9:41 pm

    “I mean what would scare a skeleton bone warrior – xrays of broken bones set wrong perhaps?” Oh ma gad, that made me laugh. thank you.

     
    • Bravetank

      August 9, 2012 at 7:25 pm

      :) My husband liked that bit too :)

       
  2. Saif

    August 8, 2012 at 5:55 pm

    Heh. Made me look at Nefarian with new eyes.

    I loved this fight back 4.0. Hardest thing I’ve ever tanked. Harder than heroic Spine, back then.

     
    • Bravetank

      August 9, 2012 at 7:27 pm

      We still haven’t gone back in to do it – although I’m sort of dreading how complicated it sounds I really want to try it.

       
      • Sven

        August 10, 2012 at 2:57 am

        Hardest bits of the fight to get used to as a dps are jumping onto the platforms for phase 2 and avoiding the sometimes hard to see pink fire in phase 3.

        You can actually sort of practice hopping onto the platforms in Dalaran on the raised statue pedestal thingy near the fountain. Start by standing right next to it, as close as you can, then jump and move forward. If you’re pushing forward then jumping you’ll get stuck on the edge – just like the Nef platforms – except in the fight you’re swimming in lava… but it’s a similar mechanic.

        TL:DR jump up then move forward – not push forward then jump up.

        Phase 3 pink fire can be difficult to determine where it exactly is. Generally you’ll be stacked up on one side of the boss. If you see your health quickly dropping (outside of a crackle) run thru him and stack on his other flank (assuming no fire there too).

         
      • Bravetank

        August 15, 2012 at 4:11 pm

        Thanks for the practice tip!! That’s a great idea :)

         
  3. Tyler F.M. Edwards

    August 8, 2012 at 6:35 pm

    Nefarian is hell. I don’t consider myself an especially skilled player, but I can count on one hand the number of times I’ve encountered a challenge I felt I couldn’t rise to with sufficient practice.

    Nefarian was one of those times. A brutal, overcomplicated, over-tuned fight that takes longer to explain on vent than it does to attempt, wipe halfway through, run back, and rebuff. It’s probably a bit more bearable in Dragon Soul gear, but still, this is one fight that I hope dearly to never see again.

     
    • Bravetank

      August 9, 2012 at 7:29 pm

      Yes I’m hoping the gear of the rest of the raid will help – I’m really only in VP/LFR gear though so I don’t know how I do. If you are saying it’s hell then I don’t hold out much hope!!

       
      • Tyler F.M. Edwards

        August 9, 2012 at 8:41 pm

        To be fair, I’m not that good. And I was in a combination of T12 and Troll gear at the time, so it’s probably a heckuva lot easier in LFR gear.

         
  4. onecof5

    August 9, 2012 at 4:20 pm

    Sun-Tzu! Awesome analogy! Sun-Tzu also said “.. to strike and conquer, and achieve things beyond the reach of ordinary men, is foreknowledge. You also followed that by researching! What a cool post.

     
    • Bravetank

      August 9, 2012 at 7:26 pm

      Thank you :) What a lovely comment :)

       
  5. yura909

    August 10, 2012 at 9:40 am

    oh man BWD. I think one of the most complicated raid ever lol. I think dragon soul is soooo much easier than BWD.

    My guild and i are also trying to do old raids but like kara and stuff fro transmog. Oh and a guild lotto idea i randomly decided to do for our guild. 50g for four numbers and in the end i do a /roll for the winning numbers.

     
    • Bravetank

      August 15, 2012 at 4:12 pm

      The guild lotto idea sounds like fun. I’d love to do a proper old run of Kara. Me & hubby went in there once with my Pally & his Warrior but couldn’t get past the stage bit.

       
  6. Imakulata

    August 14, 2012 at 9:36 am

    The jumping in the beginning of P2 is really a nightmare. The platforms seem to be designed to get people stuck under a lip on their border and it’s only made worse by the camera being forced to be underwater if you’re fully submerged and in the air if you’re not – so it’s not possible to see where you are unless you take some time to adjust it while swimming in the lava and having the explosions damage you because nobody interrupted the prototypes.

    Another problem was to find the right platform to jump to. We used to mark each one with a raid marker so people who lose track of where north/south is can still find their platform by either the symbol colour or shape. Once I managed to jump on the circle instead of square I was assigned to, which lead to a wipe of the healerless platform first, the others following. I tried defending myself by pointing out that I thought I had to go to square and had tried to do so but somehow, the raid leader insisted this didn’t answer the question why did I go for the circle instead. Apparently the symbols were too similar.

    Apart from that, it was a difficult and enjoyable fight, even though P3 as kiter’s healer was really exhausting, especially since our DPS seemed to be too slow and too quick at the same time and I really wished they were faster and slower.

    For some reason, I haven’t returned to BWD after T11. It seems as if everyone only wanted to do ToFW and not BoT or BWD which is weird considering that it was the least popular one when it was current.

     
    • Bravetank

      August 15, 2012 at 4:14 pm

      It sounds absolutely the worst raid for someone like me who (a)has no sense of direction (b)no coordinaion (c)a tendency to get in a blind panic!! Will practice the platforms in Dalaran before I ever go in again but the rest of it sounds so hard!

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers