RSS

Me and Warlock Down by the School Yard

13 Jun

Just had an interesting dungeon experience (and by interesting I don’t mean so annoying and frustrating it has turned me into a psychotic lunatic – that was yesterday). I am levelling a Discipline Priest –  Styleesh. She is currently 49 (but in the interests of an accurate record she was 48 when we entered the dungeon). The dungeon was Zul’Farrak. I used to be scared of this place when I was first levelling a healer (Androse my Pally Healer who is in her 50s on some godforsaken server somewhere  – she is unashamedly Horde which causes a problem given my current all Alliance girl group). But I felt ok at the thought of doing it as Disc. I really do love this Shield business. Allows me plenty of time to look around & appreciate the scenery. I’m not even doing that whole Disc Priests/DPS spec. I’ve gone for the purist (aka laziest) spec  – I just heal. But if a doctor said that you’d say that was more than enough- so I reckon the same should apply to me.

So anyway it was me, a cuddly Druid tank who coyly said it was his first time, a warlock, a rogue & A.N.Other DPS (left half way so can’t remember, but was then replaced by a mage). Off we trotted. The happy five. And we really were happy. The tank was excellent,  nice pull sizes – perfect for me to get by just bubbling him & casting the odd renew (occasionally I’d do a penance if I was feeling flush with the old mana). It was all good. But he went round the wrong way. Actually I didn’t think there was a wrong way in Zul Farrak as it’s  just a circle really – but there’s definitely a more efficient way which he didn’t pick.  The warlock kept saying it was the wrong way but not very assertively (sort of “Excuse me Sir but would you mind awfully if we, perhaps, just maybe, turned around and tried traversing these plains in the other direction?”). But the tank didn’t change direction. And I’m a tank lapdog when I heal so I didn’t leave his side (yes I would go with the tank over the edge of a cliff if he asked me – but I would sneakily cast levitate on myself first). So we went the wrong way- which meant Gahzrilla was the first  boss. All was fine there  though. In fact the boss was down before I realised it. Either the tank was excellent or I’m such a superb healer I’m actually doing it without even realising. I’m probably healing right now as I type this now I come to think of it.

Anyway the Pyramid  bit was fine too (that’s the bit I used to be scared of). The only sticky bit was when the tank ran round the corner after a mob & went out of my line of sight. This meant I actually had to go  after him (can you believe it- I had my lounger set out on the stairs and everything – Zul Farrak is a good naturist zone did you know -going by last week’s Bugle).

We then did  Chief Sandscalp & Ruuzlu. Again fine. The fight passed in a blink of an eye. This left us with  Theka, Zumrah & Antusul  because we’d gone the funny way round. But before we could go and finish it all off the bloody tank- old Cuddles himself- left without even saying goodbye …or thanks. I was  heartbroken but got myself a low carb treat & cheered right up (don’t get me started on low carb stuff- I won’t stop – it’s my new passion now that Glee has finished. No one can do more with a bit of protein powder and an egg than me – cooked a three course meal the other day.)

The mage left too (but I expected no more of the mage – they are fickle) so it was me, rogue & Warlock. Zumra was first. I really didn’t hold out much hope but I have to say we were awesome. I healed the pet, bubbled the warlock & rogue and screamed for my life when I was attacked. Classic noble fighting stuff. The spirit of the seven samurai is far from gone. We killed him dead (not like the other type of killing when they walk around and moan about their back hurting). We won the day.

We then hunted down Theka. Not so great. Every scarab on planet Azeroth was aggrod (I think I might have been  a bit too liberal with my heals) & we went down in a blaze of  ignominy. But plucky souls that we are we re-entered the dungeon, turned in the quests completed so far & rode on back to him, shaking in our saddles but determined nonetheless.

Once we got there we made mincemeat of him – literally (I turned my nose up as I’m a vegetarian) but then Roguey Boy (not his name but they’re all called something like that) said he had to leave. Warlock & I tried to persuade him to stay with promises of glory etc. Then when that failed we simply cried & begged him shamelessly (we were both females so some might say that came easy to us – but they’d only say it once). Nothing worked. His heart was stone and he too left us. We were both now chalking up enough abandonment issues to keep our therapists in work for years.

Anyway off we continued with an unspoken determination  not to let this beat us. I bubbled the minion as a sign of true commitment to the cause (wouldn’t normally dream of wasting my precious mana on a pet – I’ll barely use it on the dps- hehe). We were left with Antusul. The fight started but we were stood in the wrong place & he summoned a ton of basilisks. So for once I really had to earn my money as healer. I was healing the pet, the warlock, reducing my threat, healing them all again, healing myself (to hell with the threat) etc. Pretty sure the minion died at one point (or curled up in a foetal position for a joke) but in seconds he was back. The cycle continued until finally- finally – we did it. Me and the Warlock – truly awesome.

We rode back to the quest giver triumphant (ok teleported in & out) and then thanked each other for sticking with it to the end. Then we left. Probably never to see each other again. But it doesn’t matter – we’ll always have ZulFarrak. Our moment of glory.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on June 13, 2012 in World of Warcraft

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Me and Warlock Down by the School Yard

  1. bmweed

    June 13, 2012 at 8:16 pm

    PUGs can be great :D

    Doing a boss just the two of you though… amazing stuff. Well done.

     
    • Bravetank

      June 18, 2012 at 6:05 pm

      It was really good fun – although the fights took ages!!

       
  2. ellori

    June 14, 2012 at 7:39 am

    Hah, fun and funny read as usual!

    It’s always a sad and poignant moment when you have to say goodbye to someone from another server whom you might have added to your friend list if there weren’t such a thing as a server barrier. :(

     
    • cablebreak

      June 17, 2012 at 3:54 pm

      Great article! I love your writing. :)

      I hate not being able to friend people in random dungeons. Every now and again one meets up with a true gem of a player. I’d love to be able to add them, even if it meant we could only group up to run dungeons or raids together.

       
      • Bravetank

        June 18, 2012 at 6:09 pm

        Thank you :) I agree. You do now & then meet some great players & they’re never from your own server :(

         
    • Bravetank

      June 18, 2012 at 6:05 pm

      I know – you feel like you’ve bonded but then you know you’re not going see them again. Fleeting friendships!

       
  3. Tyler F.M. Edwards

    June 18, 2012 at 2:46 am

    There’s only one thing I miss about life pre-Dungeon Finder, and that’s coming up with crazy group comps for low level dungeons because you can’t find a real tank or healer. Five DPS with a lock pet tanking and an enhancement shammy healing… Good times.

    They should really let hunters and locks queue as tanks for low level stuff.

     
    • Bravetank

      June 18, 2012 at 6:13 pm

      Yes that would be good. It could perhaps make for more satisfying runs as well. I think when people try something difficult – like doing a run without a proper tank or healer – it forces everyone to dig deeper into their class abilities.

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers