RSS

Defying Gravity

18 Feb

My excitement knows no bounds. Not only have I had my swift lovebird (see last post) but I’ve also now got the companion Peddlefeet and a flying carpet.  And what’s more – I’ve finally plucked up the courage to make and WEAR the black mageweave set.

I think husband slightly disapproves of the outfit. I told him that she has a cool yellow cloak and he said, “No one will be looking at her cloak.” He then said he hoped I hadn’t spent too much on the cloth since there didn’t actually seem to be alot of material in the outfit. His attitude isn’t helped by the fact some young man (I think- but who knows in this game) was so enamoured by my name the other day that he told me he loved me and offered to get me lots of cloth for my tailoring. Husband thinks I’m attracting the wrong types. I think anything that speeds up my tailoring is worth considering.

Anyway in regard to the outfit – is there such a thing as dressing inappropriately in the game? Can you show too much thigh and buttock? I wrote about this over on the F Word site in the “You’ll Catch Your Death in That” article. I’m still battling with some of the same issues now as then.But I like the outfit so I’ve taken the plunge. She’s embracing her right to wear what she wants to wear – no matter how chilly it gets or how her thighs chafe.

In other Seashell news- she is nearly topping the dps charts in most dungeons apart from the one I ran around equipped with a fishing rod…! It’s so nice to be effortlessly powerful as opposed to all my other characters who are strenuously weak. Also everytime I put focus magic on someone I feel great and magnanimous – you’d swear I’d just done a five hour stint in a soup kitchen. “There you go- have some extra critical hit from me. No don’t thank me please. Oh you weren’t going to. What a surprise.”

To be fair I’ve actually had some good groups of late. There have been a few new tanks (Seashell is 63 so running with the Death Knight crew). The ones I’ve met have been quick to confess their inexperience and courteous to all. How long before the brutality of the dungeon world beats that out of them? One even fairly won a need roll then offered it up to the other person who’d lost saying “You need it more than me.” Amazing. I’ve stayed with a couple of groups for 2 or 3 dungeons which for me is a sign of commitment on a par with getting engaged.

Had an addon fest this morning. When I had to reinstall the game a few weeks back I lost my add ons and I hadn’t got round to re-downloading them until today. Went for Auctioneer, Tidy Plates, Decursive, Mage Nuggets (which makes me whisper something like, “Thank you for Innervating me” – which sounds slightly obscene I think), something on Achievements (the Overachiever?) which is helping me /love all the critters I need to, and Atlas Loot which I adore. It has made me very focussed in dungeons – since I actually know what items might drop I can “enjoy” that lovely tense moment just after the boss dies and we wait to see what’s dropped. Husband has been a tad shocked at the vulgarity of my language when something stupid in plate inevitably appears.

Fishing and cooking continue – I’m on a quest for Enormous Barbed Gill trout so if anyone knows the best spot for them let me know. Wowhead has sent me to all sorts of places but so far I’ve only caught one (and been killed several times – can’t believe fishing is so dangerous – I’m clearly doing it wrong). I’m getting all excited at what I’m hearing about Dalaran cooking and fishing dailies – is it really the promised land? I want to make Delicious Chocolate Cake. I can’t believe I’ve reached the dizzy heights of the 350s in all my professions (Archaeology doesn’t count of course  – it’s still on something like minus 7 ).

So it’s been a good couple of WoW days. I seem to be making real progress, actually enjoying the dungeons and meeting some really nice people who have been a pleasure to run with. Now who’d have ever thought I’d say something like that!!

 
9 Comments

Posted by on February 18, 2012 in World of Warcraft

 

Tags: , , , , ,

9 responses to “Defying Gravity

  1. Ratshag

    February 18, 2012 at 8:43 pm

    “Husband thinks I’m attracting the wrong types.”

    Yeah, but yer also attractifyin’ me, and amazingly virile orcs ain’t never the type.

     
    • Bravetank

      February 20, 2012 at 4:26 pm

      Amazingly virile orcs are very much the wrong type I think !! :)

       
  2. Ratshag

    February 18, 2012 at 8:49 pm

    the wrong type.

    /grumble about all blogs oughtta gives a poor bugger the ability fer ta edit his comments.

     
  3. Morrigu

    February 18, 2012 at 10:01 pm

    I made the black Mageweave set for my Nelf priest. First of all I got into a fight with a human priest who said I had stolen her outfit, the my fiancé looked at the pic and asked me if I knew where to get an outfit like that. Trust me, it wouldn’t be the same.

     
    • Bravetank

      February 20, 2012 at 4:27 pm

      It does seem to generate interesting reactions doesn’t it!!

       
  4. bannog

    February 20, 2012 at 9:53 am

    The full Mageweave set is in Outfitter on Ariciel under the name of “Mageweave Tart”. And currently stored in the bank. Never getting rid of it! When she’s feeling demure, she’ll go for the Pilgrim’s outfit instead. Isn’t it strange how some of the hats hide the hair, but never the ears?

     
    • Bravetank

      February 20, 2012 at 4:57 pm

      I’ve already changed her back out of it. My own demure character has taken over I think! I did like the outfit though!

       
  5. AliPally

    February 20, 2012 at 5:44 pm

    Odd how skimpy clothes supposedly only attract ‘the wrong type’ rather than ‘the right type’. I think that once again the habit of judging women based on what clothes they wear is rearing its ugly head, ie skimpy clothes = woman with low morals.
    It’s a shame if you felt pressured to change back to something more demure for that reason, if that is the case.

     
    • Bravetank

      February 21, 2012 at 8:40 pm

      Well yes there was a comment in game that did make me feel uncomfortable. I know you can’t help the conclusions some people draw and shouldn’t let it bother you but sometimes it does. :(

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers